The LTS Board of Directors

The LTS Board of Directors is composed of seven members, each of whom serve up to two three-year terms.  Service on the LTS Board is entirely voluntary, and involves monthly board meetings, dozens of phone calls and emails per month, and many hours of on and off-the-water work to support the program.  The LTS Board oversees and directs the LTS program, including:

      • selecting and managing the senior staff;
      • long- and short-term planning;
      • setting pricing and policies;
      • budgeting and financial oversight;
      • running the scholarship program;
      • evaluating and approving capital purchases;
      • fundraising;
      • and more.

Members of the Board also serve as the the officers (President, Vice-President, Secretary, and Treasurer) of Little Traverse Sailors, Inc, a 501(c)(3) charitable nonprofit educational corporation. Most of the current LTS Board members are sailors themselves as well as parents of students in the program.

The Board can be contacted at

Current Board Members

Matt Breckenfeld  [LTS Vice-President] (Term Ends October 2021)

Matt is an avid boater and father of two young sailors in the LTS program.  His day job is as the Store Manager for the Irish Boat Shop, running both the Harbor Springs and Charlevoix locations.  During summer evenings you’ll find him on the water — often racing Lasers with one or both of his sons on board.

Ali Hill [LTS Secretary] (Term Ends October 2023)

Ali took her first sailing lessons at LTS and since then has experienced the program as an instructor, parent, and parent of an instructor.  Ali and her husband Chris Ford are former business owners and recently became year-round Harbor Springs residents, where they are currently active in the 420, Laser and J70 fleets on Little Traverse Bay.

Tim Johnson (Term Ends October 2020)

Tim is an avid sailor who has been coming to Harbor Springs for many years to join the active sailing and racing community.  He and his wife Marcia are business owners;  they recently opened a second psychology practice in Petoskey.

Jill Sellers (Term Ends October 2023)

Jill and her family are summer residents of Harbor Springs and very active sailors, including three girls currently in the LTS program. She was a college sailor, sailing instructor, and has vast experience with nonprofit organizations.

Martin Grin (Term Ends October 2024)

Martin’s love of sailing started as an 8-year old at LTS and grew to be a participant in numerous fleets in Little Traverse Bay and the Great Lakes.  His association with LTS continued as an instructor throughout college and currently as a parent of four LTS sailing daughters.  Any of Martin’s sailing accomplishments pale in comparison to his lifetime total of over 1,000 Gurney’s sandwiches consumed and swims off the LTS dock that are too numerous to count…

Jan Mancinelli [LTS Treasurer] (Term Ends October 2019)

Jan recently retired from a local nonprofit where she served as Executive Director for 37 years.  Her love of sailing started with racing in the 70’s.  She has sailed her own day sailboat since 1978, and has raced on bigger boats out of LTYC since 1985.  A passion for sailing and connecting kids with positive activities on the water and off makes LTS a perfect match. 

Michael Duff [LTS President] (Term Ends October 2019)

Mike is a lifelong sailor and was introduced to the Harbor Springs area by his wife Mary Lee.  They spend summers at Menonaqua Beach with their two children Robert and Mary Anne.  Look for them sailing their red Ensign on the bay or Mike racing Lasers trying to keep up with the increasingly fast juniors of the LTS Racing Team.  Mike is active in promoting junior and community sailing the other 9 months of the year at home in Kansas City.